Some People See the Glass Half Full, Some See it Half Empty. The Enlightened are Simply Happy to Have a Glass – Mark Desvaux

Although the official “Thanksgiving” has come and past, thankfulness continues everyday.  This past Thanksgiving was especially thankful as my scans came back great. I am on a new “less invasive” combination of chemo which they think will work well.  As of right now, I’m feeling good both mentally and physically.

The reason that I chose this quote is because of what happened yesterday.  As tradition goes, the day after Thanksgiving, we put up and decorate our tree.  Christian was home (yeah) and we were blessed to have Zachary and his girlfriend helping Scott and I out.  As we got to the end of the ornament box, Christian pulled out a bird’s nest (a real one that was in a tree that we cut down YEARS ago).  Every year we put the bird’s nest in our tree as it is supposed to bring good luck.

Well, needless to say, Christian asked if we were going to put it in the tree this year.  When I said “Of course, it brings good luck.” His response was “Well it didn’t work very well this year did it.”  I was befuddled for a moment then I said. “You are wrong.  Was it a banner year?  No. But we are all here together continuing our yearly tradition and I am getting better. The flip side is that I wouldn’t be here at all.  It’s all how you look at things.  Be grateful for all that we DO have and not what we missed out on.”  With that I hugged him, told him how much I love him and we continued on with our decorating.

I truly believe that things happen for a reason and try NOT to question why bad things happen to the good people.  I know that God is the reason why I found the best doctor, the reason why I am getting better and the reason that I am so strong. Every night I thank God for how incredibly blessed I am.

Remember…it’s more important to have a glass, not whether it is half full or half empty.

 

 

One thought on “Some People See the Glass Half Full, Some See it Half Empty. The Enlightened are Simply Happy to Have a Glass – Mark Desvaux

Leave a comment